Lee Ritenour's 'Overtime' Available in June

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 at 08:00 AM PDT by

Jazz fans get 'Overtime' June 19 on Blu-ray!

Recorded over two days in a Burbank, California studio, almost three hours in length, 'Overtime' is a tour-de-force of jam-happy proportions as the guitarist is placed in a variety of environments that show off his extraordinary skill of adapting to each and every genre-specific moment.

From the soulful funk of The Temptations' "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" to a stunning set of Brazilian samba to the jazz-rock fusion of his early days, Rit rocks, swings, and rolls in a progressive mélange of satisfying chops and intelligence. There’s an innate feel in these grooves that one cannot only respond to intellectually but viscerally…in the gut. The songs are culled from 1977's Captain Fingers, 1978's Captain's Journey, 1981's Rit, 1988's Festival, 1992's Wes Bound (a tribute to the legendary guitarist Wes Montgomery) and 2003's Twist Of Motown.

Just check out the track listing on this disc:

  • 1) Party Time

  • 2) Blue In Green

  • 3) Mizrab

  • 4) Sugarloaf Express

  • 5) Harlequin

  • 6) Beyond The Storm

  • 7) Dinorah Dinorah

  • 8) P.A.L.S.

  • 9) Captain Fingers

  • 10) Morning Glory

  • 11) Captain Caribe

  • 12) Night Rhythms

  • 13) A Little Bumpin’

  • 14) Water To Drink (Agua de Beber)

  • 15) Possibilities

  • 16) Papa Was A Rolling Stone

  • 17) Is It You?

  • 18) Thirteen

  • 19) She Walks This Earth

This Jazz classic will feature a DTS-HD Master Audio mix along with LPCM Stereo sound.

The suggested retail price has been set at $19.98.

Make sure to follow our Blu-ray Release Schedule as we update 'Overtime' as more information is released about it. It's listed under June 19.

See what people are saying about this story in our forums area, or check out other recent discussions.

Discs mentioned in this article: (Click for specs and reviews)
Overtime (Blu-ray)
Tags: Eagle Rock Home Entertainment, Disc Announcements (all tags)