'The Star Wars Digital Colleciton' Heads to Media Players, Smart TVs & Mobile Devices April 10!

Posted Tue Apr 7, 2015 at 11:30 AM PDT by
star wars digital

Prepare to travel to a galaxy far, far away on Digital HD. Pre-orders are now live

The Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm Ltd., and 20th Century Fox have announced the upcoming release of 'The Star Wars Digital Collection.' All six 'Star Wars' films will be available in Digital HD starting April 10.

"Since the debut of the first film nearly 40 years ago, Star Wars has become a worldwide phenomenon with legions of fans from every generation," said Alan Bergman, President, The Walt Disney Studios. "It's only fitting that audiences enjoy this legendary Saga and its many fascinating behind-the-scenes stories on a wide variety of platforms, and we're very excited to finally bring all six films to Digital HD for the first time."

Star Wars: Episodes I-VI will be available to purchase on Digital HD as a complete collection or individually. In addition, each film comes with never-before-seen special features. Here's a rundown of the announced bonus material -- though some content may vary by retailer...

STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE II: Attack of the Clones

Conversations: Sounds In Space
Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed
Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith

Conversations: The Star WarsThat Almost Was
Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE IV: A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

Conversations: Creating A Universe
Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber
Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back

Conversations: The Lost Interviews
Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi

Conversations: The Effects
Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt
Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

Pre-orders are now live through several retailers, including Amazon, VUDU, iTunes, M-GO, and Google Play. Individual titles are listed at $19.99 while the complete 'Digital Movie Collection' is listed at $89.99. Specific device support will be dependent on the purchase method, but various options for media players, smart TVs, mobile gear, and game consoles are available, including the Roku 3, Fire TV, and Chromecast.

Source: StarWars.com

See what people are saying about this story in our forums area, or check out other recent discussions.

Tags: Star Wars, Lucasfilm, Digital HD, Amazon Instant Video, iTunes, VUDU, Google Play, 20th Century Fox, Disney, A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi, The Force Awakens (all tags)