'Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis' Blu-ray Announced

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 at 10:00 AM PDT by

The controversial redux of Fritz Lang's's 1927 sci-fi masterpiece is getting a Blu-ray release in November.

Kino Video has just announced 'Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis' for Blu-ray on November 15.

The release of Moroder's 1984 edit has been in a state of limbo for years due to rights legalities involving its music, which features numerous pop-rock tunes including:

"Love Kills" – Performed by Freddie Mercury
"Here's My Heart" – Performed by Pat Benatar
"Cage of Freedom" – Performed by Jon Anderson
"Blood from a Stone" – Performed by Cycle V
"The Legend of Babel" – Performed by Giorgio Moroder
"Here She Comes" – Performed by Bonnie Tyler
"Destruction" – Performed by Loverboy
"On Your Own" – Performed by Billy Squier
"What's Going On" – Performed by Adam Ant

The Blu-ray will feature a new high-definition digital scan of the Moroder cut with the original 2.0 audio as well as a 5.1 mix and supplements will include: Introduction from Moroder, The Fading Image (documentary on this version's restoration), photo gallery, and theatrical trailer.

Suggested list price for the Blu-ray is $34.95.

You can find the latest specs for 'Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis' linked from our Blu-ray Release Schedule, where it's indexed under November 15.

See what people are saying about this story in our forums area, or check out other recent discussions.

Discs mentioned in this article: (Click for specs and reviews)
Giorgio Moroder Presents Metropolis (Blu-ray)
The Complete Metropolis (Blu-ray)
Tags: Disc Announcements, Kino (all tags)