Watch The 2015 Pokemon World Championship Finals Livestream Today

Posted Sun Aug 23, 2015 at 07:02 AM PDT by

Card game finals are live now, with video game finals coming this afternoon.

After a full weekend of high-level Pokémon competition, both in the video game and the TCG, the 2015 Pokémon World Championships are coming to a close today with finals for both card throwers and button mashers.

The stream is up and running live from Boston on the Pokémon Twitch channel. You can also catch the action below. According to the streaming schedule, the trading card game finals will run until 3 p.m. Eastern (12 noon Pacific), at which point the 3DS systems will come out for the video game finals. (Update: It looks like the TCG finals went more quickly than expected, so the video game finals should start around 12:30 p.m. Eastern [9:30 a.m. Pacific], according to an updated schedule.)

There is more than $500,000 of scholarship money at stake for the World Championships. Each event is divided into three age brackets, resulting in six total first-place winners—three for the video game and three for the TCG. Video game winners will each walk away with $10,000 in scholarship awards, and each TCG winner will net an impressive $25,000 scholarship.

Watch live video from Pokemon on www.twitch.tv Source: Pokémon

Tags: games, Pokémon, 2015 pokemon world championship, Twitch (all tags)